• Increase Text
  • High Contrast Mode

Indices of Multiple Deprivation in Southwark – Map

This map shows the 10, 15, 20 and 30% most deprived areas in Southwark, which are areas that some funders are particularly interested in.

The Indicies of Multiple Deprivation are a statistical way of identifying small areas or neighbourhoods that are disadvantaged, and are in need of more support and development.


This is an official Government system that splits the country into thousands of small areas, known as LSOAs – best thought of as small local neighbourhoods. In these defined areas they measure a wide range of things, including the income of individuals, their employment and education prospects, their access to housing and local services, life expectancy and much more

These different factors are combined to create one overall Index of Multiple Deprivation, and every neighbourhood in the country is assigned a value. When compared nationally, you are able to identify the areas most in need – the most deprived 10-20% – of which there are a number in Southwark.

The map below shows these, split into the 10, 15, 20 and 30% most deprived neighbourhoods – also known as IMD 1-3.

  • The 10% most deprived are displayed in blue.
  • The 15% most deprived are displayed in red.
  • The 20% most deprived are displayed in yellow.
  • The 30% most deprived are displayed in dark grey

You can also use the icon in the top left to show the key on the map.

Certain funders focus their efforts on these most disadvantaged neighbourhoods, most often looking at those brackets of the 10, 15 and 20% most deprived areas. Below is a list of funders that are particularly, or occasionally exclusively, interested in funding projects in those neighbourhoods:

This information can be useful when talking to funders of all shapes and sizes, especially larger national bodies, as it helps them get a quick, surface level understanding of the neighbourhood, which you can then build on when talking about your particular project or service.